Northern Ireland - awards

Bangor Marina

ICE Northern Ireland's prestigious awards promote the work of civil engineers and encourage excellence in the profession across the region. The awards recognise projects ICE members are involved with, as well as outstanding individual achievements and knowledge.

Celebrating outstanding civil engineering achievements

Northern Ireland's Sustainability award

Sustainability Award

This award is presented every two years, at the Annual Dinner, to companies working on projects within Northern Ireland that demonstrate excellent sustainability. The winning project demonstrates sustainability through innovation, how it benefits a community and the environmental benefit, economy of materials and labour, value engineering, and health and safety.

Recognising individual achievement

ICE Northern Ireland aims to recognise the achievements of individual members through a number of awards. The Ferguson and Poskitt Medals are awarded annually at the ICE NI Annual Dinner. The winners of these prestigious medals are chosen by a group of regional committee members.

Pitch 200

Pitch 200

Pitch 200 is an engineering competition with a difference.

As one of the four core national activities for ICE 200, this competition is an opportunity to show the general public how civil engineers transform their lives directly in order to encourage the next generation into the profession.

Different to many of the other ICE competitions, Pitch 200 draws on engineers creativity to demonstrate a particular aspect of civil engineering to a public audience – and you only have 200 seconds to do it.

Members at every level have the opportunity to submit a presentation in the weirdest, wackiest and most unconventional way using anything at their disposal to explain your chosen idea.

Entering the Pitch 200 gives you a great chance to:

  • Promote civil engineering as an exciting industry to the public, your area of research/practice and the variety and diversity of jobs within the profession
  • Develop your skills and confidence in public speaking
  • Demonstrate your talent to the engineering community and peers
  • Become ICE Regional Ambassador for 2019 (providing a 'money can't buy' prize that greatly increases the profile and contacts of the winner).

Initial entries are a 60 second video summary of what your full presentation would be, and can be based on your own work, discipline or another aspect on civil engineering that fascinates you. It can be adapted from project reports, university/employment research papers or something entirely new.


Say my name is Isambard and I've been working on this interesting suspension bridge in Bristol. For my video, I could make a model of the bridge showing how it was constructed and the engineering behind it. This video would be 20 seconds long and would be sent with the form below to my local ICE regional team.

Once I'd sent it in, I'd wait to hear if I'd been shortlisted. If I am, I'll get the chance to produce a longer 200 second talk to be presented at the regional Pitch 200 heat. If I win the heat then I will go through to present at the finale at One Great George Street.


The regional winner will be shortlisted for the Pitch 200 Final where the overall ICE Ambassador for 2019 will be awarded.

The Northern Ireland region Pitch 200 is open to all current ICE members who live, work or study in Northern Ireland.

ICE 200

Entry details in brief

Applications have now closed.

Watch our Pitch 200 videos to find out more


Kindly sponsored by

Hays logo

Ferguson Medal

Ferguson Medal

The Ferguson Medal was introduced in 1982 and is named after Robert Ferguson OBE, founder of Ferguson McIlveen. It recognises his contribution to civil engineering and the Institution in Northern Ireland. It is awarded for the best paper, submitted in any year by a regional member.

Ferguson Medal winner 2017

Winners of the 2017 Ferguson Medal
Winners of the 2017 Ferguson Medal

The Ferguson Medal was awarded to Abhey Gupta for his paper, 'Solving the Challenges of Sea Defence.'

Poskitt Medal

Poskitt Medal

The Poskitt Medal commemorates Fred Poskitt, a Past Chairman (1972-73) who bequeathed a legacy to ICE. It is awarded for the best paper on design or construction of water resource, or water supply works, submitted in any year by a regional member.

Poskitt Medal winner 2017

The 2017 winning team
The 2017 winning team

The Poskitt Medal was awarded to David Porter and Alan Strong for their paper, 'Winter Flooding 2015/16.'

Emerging Engineers Award

Emerging Engineers Award

The Emerging Engineers Award is also known as the Brennan Cup in NI. This competition requires graduate and student members to produce a paper or essay on a topic related to civil engineering. The regional winner is awarded the Brennan Cup and their paper is recommended for entry to the national final of the competition.

The Brennan Cup competition takes place on 21 January 2019 and applications should be submitted by 5pm on Friday 23 November. For application forms and more information about the competition, visit the Emerging Engineers page.

Most recent winner

Sean McNulty

Sean McNulty won the 2018 Emerging Engineers Award with his paper, 'M8 M73 M74 Motorway Improvements.' He is pictured with ICE Chairman for 2017/18, Philip Brown.

National competition

The Emerging Engineers Award culminates in a national competition. 3 winners from across the UK are selected to take part in the final, held at our headquarters in London.

The selected finalists each present their papers, with the overall winner receiving a cash prize and the prestigious Institution Medal.

Find out more about the final

Sustainability Award

Sustainability Award

The Sustainability Award is awarded biennially to Northern Ireland civil engineering project that demonstrates outstanding environmental sustainability. The Award is given at the ICE Annual Dinner in December.

Download our award information


Adrian Long Medal

This medal celebrates the academic career and research of the Region's esteemed Past Chairman and Past President Adrian Long. Adrian Long donated funds to the Institution to establish a prize in his name for the best paper published in a technical journal.

Submissions should be sent to [email protected]. The deadline for applications is 1pm on Tuesday 30 October 2018.

Further your civil engineering career

Looking to further your civil engineering career or want to get your career off the ground? Want to help solve issues around the world from connecting a remote village to solving the energy shortage? Then a career in civil engineering could be just for you. Find out what you will need to know to start your career or further your development in civil engineering, no matter what stage you're at.

Visit careers and professional development

This is civil engineering

Find out about the latest civil engineering project changing peoples lives.

View more civil engineering projects