Scotland - Scottish Civil Engineering Awards 2020/21

Queensferry Crossing

ICE Scotland celebrates excellence and innovation in civil engineering and its contribution to society through project and individual awards. Scottish Civil Engineering Awards 2020/21

Scottish Civil Engineering Awards 2020/21

The premier showcase for engineering excellence in Scotland

We are now seeking entries for the 2020/21 Scottish Civil Engineering Awards, celebrating outstanding civil engineering achievement, innovation and ingenuity in Scotland.

Jointly managed by ICE Scotland and CECA Scotland, the awards are widely recognised as the highest honour for engineering excellence in the built environment, showcasing the success of Scottish civil engineering.

2019 winners included the V&A Museum of Design in Dundee, the Stirling-Dunblane-Alloa Electrification Project and the Aberdeen Western Peripheral Route.

How to Enter

Completed applications should be emailed to: [email protected] by 17.00 on Friday 18 June 2021.

Download the application form

Award Categories

All projects should demonstrate innovation, creativity and social value whilst embedding a safety and sustainability culture.

Projects must be excellent in design, construction, project management, financial control, infrastructure, maintenance or network operation – and could be heritage projects which have been ‘re-engineered’.

Projects will utilise digital systems and new technologies where appropriate to serve civil engineering..

We have refreshed our awards so that each of the categories is of equal merit and there is no overall winner. We also want to recognise smaller but just as important civil engineering projects which transform their local community.

Dependent on the number of entries more than one award may be made within a particular category. Projects with an outturn value of under £2m will be recognised separately to larger projects.

The 2020/21 categories will include:

Greatest Contribution to Scotland

This award is given to the project that most beneficially impacts the people of Scotland and visitors to Scotland and showcases the vital contribution that civil engineers make to Scottish life.

Best Infrastructure Project

This award recognises civil engineering excellence in the design and construction of transport, geotechnical or water engineering; energy, waste or regeneration.

Innovation Award

This category rewards ground-breaking developments in products, materials and ways of working which changes future practices. The entry can apply to a new method or the development of an existing method to enhance project outcomes.

Building Award

The building award recognises the engineer's part in collaborative working across the whole design and construction team to produce a building solution that is elegant and positively influential.

Sustainability and Resilience Award

Recognising the best civil engineering intervention that has significantly improved the sustainability or resilience of a new or existing piece of infrastructure or a building. The judges will assess whether it significantly improves environmental outcomes.

Community Award

For projects that have made a significant contribution to their local area involving the local community in an innovative or exemplary way. It could be for a public space project with significant positive impact upon the local community or restoration of historic infrastructure.

We will also be considering entries for initiatives to support workforces and project delivery through Covid-19.

2019 project entries

Learn more about the projects by watching this video.