Skip to content

The Karen Burt Award

The Karen Burt Award goes to a high-calibre female who is a recently chartered engineer, applied scientist or IT professional.

This award, which commemorates Dr Karen Burt, is given by the Women's Engineering Society.

Who was Karen Burt?

Dr Karen Burt was a respected physicist and a member of the Women's Engineering Society. She campaigned tirelessly for women to have careers in science and engineering. Her experience and extensive research helped women working in engineering to manage their career breaks and return to work.

Can I be nominated?

Yes, if you:

  • Are a female chartered member
  • Have passed your Professional Review
  • Are nominated by your reviewers

ICE reviewers nominate one candidate for the Karen Burt Award, based on their commitment to promoting the profession. The finalist is then selected to represent ICE for the award.

  • 2018 – Susan Deeny, Institution of Fire Engineers
  • 2017 – Madeleine Jones, Institute of Chemical Engineering
  • 2016 – Clare Lavelle, Energy Institute
  • 2015 - Helen Randell, Institution of Civil Engineers
  • 2014 - Elaine Greaney, Institute of Engineering and Technology

Got a question about our awards or competitions?

If you have any questions or are unable to find what you are looking for, please contact the Awards Co-ordinator using the link below.