Skip to content
Search
Type
Webinar

ICE President's visit to South Asia

Event organised by

Date
13 January 2022
Time
13:00 - 15:00 GMT
Location
Online

This event has now ended

You can catch-up on details or any broadcast and downloads here.

Overview

Please note the local start times:

13:00 – 15:00 UK
18:30 – 20:30 India & Sri Lanka
18:45 – 20:45 Nepal
18:00 – 20:00 Pakistan
19:00 - 21:00 Bangladesh

It’s a time of challenge and change across civil engineering. With 100 billion Dollars pledged at COP26 to developing countries, ICE seeks to equip engineers everywhere with the skills needed to achieve global carbon emission targets. The developing nations of South Asia have a unique set of climate challenges that engineers face.

Join ICE President, Ed McCann for an online event with opinions shared from India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nepal. All members and non-members are welcome.

Chaired by ICE South Asia Chair, I A Khan OBE, B.Sc(Eng)(London), M.Sc(Eng), C.Eng, FICE, FCIHT, FIEB, delegates will also find out more about ongoing membership initiatives in the region including the Sri Lanka Graduates Forum and the challenges of member affordability.

Delegates will be able to interact with the President and pose questions through the online platform or emailed in advance to[email protected]

Online

This event is being shown online. Register to get access.

Speakers

Ed McCann

Ed McCann

Institution of Civil Engineers

president 2021-22

Read more

Ed McCann

Ed graduated from Imperial College London in 1989 with a degree in Civil Engineering. During twelve years with Binnie & Partners he obtained a Master’s Degree in Hydraulic Engineering and worked on some fifty infrastructure projects all over the world.

He joined Expedition Engineering in 2002 where he has been the Project Director for many projects including the multi award winning Infinity Bridge and the Olympic 2012 Velodrome. He currently works on major projects and programs in the UK and internationally where he focuses on strategic engineering design and improving productivity across the asset lifecycle. 

Ed was instrumental in the growth and development of Expedition from a “back bedroom start-up” to Building Magazine’s Engineering Consultant of the Year in 2012.

In 2009, Ed and the two other owners of Expedition set up a social enterprise called the Useful Simple Trust and gave the company to the employees. He is now a Trustee of the UST, which has a number of award-winning companies specialising in Engineering, Communications Design, Architecture, Education and Sustainability.

He is a Royal Academy Visiting Professor of Innovation and a member of the UK’s i3P Strategic Leadership Group which is focused on innovating across the built environment. 

He co-created cross industry initiatives including: the Constructionarium, the Get It Right Initiative and the Expedition Workshed.

Ed has been actively involved in design education since 1999 and he is a Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor of Innovation.

 

For more information please contact:

Thomas Compton