Skip to content

ICE Wales Cymru Annual Awards 2021

Event organised by ICE

01 December 2021
12:00 - 12:30 GMT
Watch Online,
United Kingdom

This event has now ended

You can catch-up on details or any broadcast and downloads here.


We were delighted to receive an exceptionally wide range of entries for our annual ICE Project Awards competition this year. The entries ranged from a £21m through-school building project to a £650k flood protection scheme. Amongst the entries was a 1,500 bed emergency/surge hospital, which was delivered within a couple of weeks from a standing start and a £3.5m Regency Garden Restoration project involving the reconstruction of historic lakes, dams, bridges, sluices and waterfalls.

Project Awards are given for the following Categories:

The George Gibby Award - presented to the best example of outstanding design and construction of a project costing more than £3 million.

The Roy Edwards Award - presented to the best example of outstanding design and construction of a project costing less than £3 million.

The Bill Ward Sustainability Award - presented to the project which best demonstrates the principles of sustainability, i.e. social, economic and environmental benefits of the project during delivery and upon completion.

The Designed in Wales Award - presented to a project that has demonstrated outstanding design and construction and which has been designed in Wales and constructed elsewhere (either in the UK or overseas).

The Alun Griffiths Award for Community Engagement - presented to an individual or organisation who have demonstrated standards of excellence in engagement with the local community in the planning, design, project management and construction of any project.

The Chair’s Special Award - presented to any individual or project which has demonstrated exceptional skill and expertise or made an exceptional contribution to the profession. The Judging Panel may make a recommendation to the ICE Wales Cymru Chair that a shortlisted project be presented with this award.

This year’s competition is notable for the wide range of entries that have been submitted. The projects are diverse in nature and in value. They display excellence in different ways; in concept, in design and in construction. Care and attention to detail with respect to health and safety, sustainability and community involvement is widely apparent.

There are also individual winners of the following awards:

Paterson Prize - The Paterson Prize is awarded to the candidate who produces the best written exercise in their Professional Review in the year before the award is presented.

Ben Barr Award - presented to an engineer who has demonstrated exceptional qualities during their Professional Review in the year before the award is presented.

Apprentice of the Year Award – presented for excellence in both professional and academic study undertaken by apprentices of the Wales Apprenticeship Alliance.

STEMM Ambassador of the Year - This award honours an individual who has shown outstanding commitment to civil engineering by giving their time, to inspire the next generation of civil engineers on behalf of the Institution of Civil Engineers.

Please book your place and join us to see who the winners are


This event is being shown online. Register to get access.

For more information please contact:

Felicity White