Skip to content

Fleming Award 2016

Event organised by ICE

07 December 2016

This event has now ended

You can catch-up on details or any broadcast and downloads here.


Join the BGA, Cementation Skanska and ICE at One Great George Street on 7 December to celebrate geotechnical excellence and announce the 2016 Fleming Award winner.

This year's finalists are:

Project: Crag End Landslip
Team: Volker Stevin, Atkins, Northumberland County Council, Keller

Project: Crossrail C300 & C410 Compensation Grouting
Team: Crossrail, BAM Ferrovial Kier JV, Keller BAM Ritchies JV

Project: Farnley Haugh Emergency Works
Team: Renewals Collaborative Delivery Partnership (RCDP) - Network Rail, CML, AECOM

The Fleming Award is given annually to commemorate the life and work of Dr Ken Fleming and to recognise excellence in the practical application of geotechnics in a project or a part of a project, with a prize donated by Cementation Skanska.

The evening will comprise short presentations from three shortlisted project teams. After the teams have completed their presentations and responded to questions, the judges will retire to consider their verdict, and assess which project team most demonstrates excellence in geotechnical design and construction.

The keynote address will cover recent developments and applications in geotechnical characterisation, highlight the potential benefits of numerical modelling and explore how to optimise the quality of ground investigation in the future.

The evening will conclude with the presentation of the prize donated by Cementation Skanska who are also kindly sponsoring the drinks reception afterwards.

For more information please contact:

ICE Events Team