Skip to content

James Rennie Medal final 2022

Event organised by ICE

14 March 2022

This event has now ended


The James Rennie Medal recognises the best Chartered Professional Review candidate of the year.

This year’s final will feature ICE’s top three Chartered Professional Review (CPR) and CPR (Progressive) candidates of 2021. They will each present and defend their CPR reports to an audience.

The three finalists are:

  • Jim Batty CEng MICE, Project Manager at John Sisk & Son, who will outline his role on the Canal Underbridge situated on the Network Rail infrastructure between Liskeard and Looe that has been providing a passenger service since 1879
  • Eleanor Lockhart CEng MICE, Senior Engineer at WSP, who will discuss her role on the structural inspections and assessments of five linkspans at ports on the west coast of Scotland that ferries and vessels use for loading, plus an assessment of a viaduct in Greenock
  • Ronan Royston CEng MICE, Project Manager at Ward and Burke Construction, who will present his report on the Blanchardstown Regional Drainage Scheme Project, an €88 million investment to construct 3.2 km of tunnelled sewers and 30,000 m3 of attenuation that will reduce spills to the River Tolka and Dublin Bay

The best candidate will receive the prestigious 2022 James Rennie Medal in recognition of their achievements.

If you’re a Graduate or Student member aspiring to become a professionally qualified ICE member, you’ll find the evening invaluable. It will give an insight into some of the questions asked at Professional Review.

For all members it’s a chance to meet some of our brightest up-and-coming engineers and learn about interesting civil engineering projects.

The evening will be hosted by Ed McCann, ICE President, and the Q&A sessions for the finalists will be chaired by Séan Harris, ICE Director of Membership. The winner of the 2022 James Rennie Medal will be decided by the judges: Darren James, Chair of James Rennie Medal Award Panel, David Scarr, Stephen Dellow, Rachel Skinner and Chris Young


18:30 - 18:35

Introduction – Ed McCann, ICE President

18:35 - 18:40

History of James Rennie

18:40 - 18:45

Introduction of the finalists and chair of Q&A sessions – Séan Harris, ICE Director of Membership

18:45 - 20:25

Finalist presentations and Q&As – Jim Batty, Eleanor Lockhart and Ronan Royston 20:10: Interval

20:25 - 20:30

Vote of thanks

20:30 - 20:40

Winner announced and vent closes

For more information please contact:

ICE Events Team