Northern Ireland - committees

Bangor Marina

ICE Northern Ireland's various committees and groups bring together like-minded people and give members the opportunity to increase their knowledge, get advice, and raise the profile and standard of civil engineering.

Find out about the committees and groups that make up ICE Northern Ireland, including what they do, who are members and how you can get involved.

Special interest groups

Special interest groups (SIGs) are a link between industry and ICE, helping us to provide information, training and best practice to our members. Members of SIGs are volunteers from a range of backgrounds within the profession. If you would like to get involved with any of the SIGs in Northern Ireland, please contact the relevant chair.

Commerce and Contracts

The ICE Northern Ireland Commerce and Contracts group aims to promote a better understanding of contract conditions, the legal framework within which they operate and the management procedures needed to deliver projects successfully. This group also provides training for members in the region who are preparing for ICE Law and Contracts exams.

Name Position Employer
Brenda O'Loan Chair AECOM
James Golden   Quigg Golden
Sean Bradley   Farrans
David McCune   AECOM

Education and Training

The ICE Northern Ireland Education and Training Group oversees activities related to the education and training of ICE members in the region. It also aims to identify areas where members can't get the training they need or if improvement is needed.

Name Position
Alan Skates  
David McCune  
Grainne McQuaid  
Martyn Harvie  
Mark McGuigan  
Richard Kirk  
Siobhan Mullan  
Stephen Heaney  
Wendy Armstrong  

Geotechnical Group

The Northern Ireland Geotechnical Group (NIGG) provides an opportunity for the local geotechnical community to meet, and organises technical meetings, seminars and occasional site visits.

Name Position Employer
Keri Fitzpatrick Chair Byrne Looby
Monica Steele Secretary Amey
Eoin Hughes Treasurer Byrne Looby
Laura Carse Member Arup
Simon Wells Member AECOM
Daniel O'Higgins Member Dawson WAM
William Brown Member Gavin Doherty Geosolutions
Noel Kelly Member AECOM
Gabriel Gallagher Member AECOM
Gifford Ferguson Member Ground Check
David Hughes Member QUB
Kaine Lynch Member TransportNI
Andrew Graham Member Doran Consulting
Clare Brennan Member Gavin Doherty Geosolutions

Interested in getting involved?

A simplified application process for UK Register of Ground Engineering Professionals (RoGEP) Professional Grade is available to members who submit their application within 12 months of becoming chartered by ICE

Health and Safety

The Health and Safety group shares knowledge and best practice with ICE members, industry and wider society, to ensure the highest standards of health and safety awareness. The group runs seminars and training courses on a number of health and safety-related topics.

Name Position
Charlie Hutchison Chair
David Bramall  
Wendy Armstrong  
Andrew Cooke  
Nancy Henry  
Neil Campbell  
David Agnew  
Ron Coates  
John McCullagh  
Chris Toal  

Panel for Historical Engineering Works (PHEW)

The NI PHEW committee is responsible for identifying, recording and promoting historical works across the region. Committee members prepare and update record forms for historical sites in Northern Ireland, so they can be added to the central UK database of historical engineering works.

The committee encourages excellence in the conservation of significant works.

Name Position
Dr Phil Donald Chair
Frank Robinson  
Dr Michael Gould  
John McRobert  
Prof Adrian Long  
Ivor Pollock  

Reservoir Safety Group

The ICE Northern Ireland Reservoirs Safety Group was established to help the Rivers Agency shape policy for the Reservoirs Bill. The group's members use their expert knowledge to reduce flood risk and the problems it poses to health, the environment, culture, heritage, and settlements.

Name Position
Bill Gowdy Chair
Alan Cooper  
David McKillen  
Stephen Orr  
Donal Ryan  

Transportation Group

The Transportation Group gives members the opportunity to discuss and promote the study and practice of transportation engineering across land, water and air. The group provides information and expert knowledge for publications such as State of the Nation.

Name Position
Mark Atkinson Chair
Kieran O'Connor  
Kevin McShane  
Douglas Ferguson  
Clare Anderson  

Sustainability Group

The Sustainability Group encourages civil engineers to adopt and implement sustainable approaches and promotes ICE's Sustainability Charter. This group is also responsible for the region's Sustainability Award

Name Position
Gerry Hennity Chair
James Nicholl  
Jonathan Bradshaw  
Jacqueline Gibson  
Richard Robinson  

Discover more of our civil engineering knowledge

Our disciplines and resources section contains a wealth of civil engineering knowledge, from case studies to recorded lectures, to related publications and best practice. You can also search our library catalogue, one of the world's largest collections of civil engineering materials, and find out more about historical engineering sites across the UK.

Find out more in our disciplines and resources section