BGA Fleming Award 2017 call for entries

The British Geotechnical Association invites entries for the annual Fleming Award from teams who have worked on geotechnical projects substantially completed within the two years up to December 2017.

Dr Ken Fleming
Dr Ken Fleming

The annual Fleming Award competition commemorates the life and work of Dr Ken Fleming and recognises excellence in the practical application of geotechnics.

Submitting teams typically include representatives from clients, main contractors, consulting engineers, specialist contractors, etc.

The Fleming Award is presented to the project team that demonstrates excellence in geotechnical design and construction. Emphasis will be on teamwork across the different disciplines involved in a project. Innovative projects are also considered.

How to enter Fleming Award

Shortlisted teams will present their work at the award finals on 6 December. A prize of £1,000 has been donated by Cementation Skanska Foundations.

Submissions should be sent to by Saturday 30 September.

See full competition details and entry requirements and download the application form.