Civil engineers celebrated in ICE’s Annual Awards Ceremony

The stars of the built environment industry were recently recognised at the ICE Annual Awards Ceremony held in the newly refurbished Great Hall at One Great George Street.

Chris Hendy, Technical Director at Atkins seen here with Sir John Armitt, is this year’s Gold Medal Winner
Chris Hendy, Technical Director at Atkins seen here with Sir John Armitt, is this year’s Gold Medal Winner

The Awards, an annual fixture of the Institution's events calendar, recognise both outstanding civil engineering achievements and contribution to the profession and the Institution.

Ceremony attendees enjoyed the chance to network ahead of ICE Director General Nick Baveystock's warm welcome followed by lunch in the Great Hall after which the winners were presented with their awards.

The day was compered by BBC News presenter Alice Bhandhukravi and featured a guest speech by journalist and satirist Ian Hislop, whose father was a civil engineer. Also speaking was Robin Sham who spoke of his pride at being a previous winner. Robin was instrumental in the design and construction of the 24km Second Penang Bridge, the longest sea link in Southeast Asia, and the most substantial bridgework in the recent history of sea crossing construction in the work. The project received the Institution's Brunel Medal for civil engineering excellence at last year's ceremony.

Gold Medal

Perhaps the most prestigious medal awarded by the Institution is the Gold Medal which is awarded for civil engineering excellence to an individual whose sustained contribution to civil engineering over many years is of particular magnitude and stature. This year's award went to Chris Hendy who is Technical Director and Head of Bridge Engineering at Atkins. Chris has spent over 20 years in the industry during which time he has made a significant contribution to civil engineering.

Chris, a Fellow of the Institution, has worked on projects including the New Medway Bridge in Kent, and internationally recognised projects, including the 14.5 kilometre Penang Bridge in Malaysia and the Dubai Metro viaduct – part of the world's longest fully automated metro. Throughout his career, Chris has published over 50 peer-reviewed papers, as well as writing three books on bridge design.

Commenting on his award, Chris Hendy said: "It's unlikely that most people who use bridges give them a second thought. In most cases it's taken for granted that they will simply provide a safe way to make your journey or connect what would otherwise be divided communities. But I know from experience the amount of planning, knowledge and expertise that engineers need to put into every individual structure to make sure this is the case. I'm incredibly proud to have been awarded the Gold Medal and hope it shines a spotlight on the fantastic, and often unrecognised work of our profession and the role we can play in enriching lives and communities around the world."

ICE President Sir John Armitt, who presented Chris with his award, commented: "Bridges are a very visible example of the skills of engineers and the benefit they bring linking communities, business and countries. Chris' huge body of bridge engineering work speaks for itself as he is recognized not just here in the UK but all over the world. On behalf of the engineering world and ICE in particular, I am delighted to present the Gold Medal to Chris Hendy."

Philip Hoare, Managing Director of Atkins' Transportation division, added: "Congratulations to Chris on this well-deserved award. He is a wonderful ambassador for Atkins and the wider engineering profession. Not only is he able to see many of the projects he's helped deliver making a positive difference to society, he has dedicated significant amounts of his time to maintaining high standards and pushing the boundaries within his discipline which benefits everyone."

International Medal

Amongst the other prizes awarded were the International Medal which went to Jose Cordovilla, Partner at Solvere who the Awards Committee felt had shown a remarkable level of dedication to the industry over the course of his career. He became an ICE member in 2002 and founded his own consulting firm in 2010. He served as Country Representative for ICE Spain from 2003 to 2013.The full list of the winners is shown below, congratulations to all.

Warren Medal

The Warren Medal, awarded to a member for their service to their region went to Richard Fish, Director, Richard Fish Consultancy. He became an ICE member in 1980 and a Fellow in 2000. He served on the ICE Council from 2009 to 2015, with two terms as South West representative. In addition to his role at national level, he is a regular contributor to ICE South West, having chaired judging panels, assisting with regional seminars, State of the Nation reports and events for potential Fellows.

Edmund Hambly Medal

The Edmund Hambly Medal, which recognises an engineering project that makes a substantial contribution to sustainable development, this year went to The Barangaroo Reserve. The Reserve is a waterfront development in Sydney, Australia. The completed project is a public recreational space, which sets a global benchmark for urban renewal and sustainable development within a major city.

John Mitchell Medal

The John Mitchell Medal was instituted by the John Mitchell Memorial Trust to commemorate the distinguished geotechnical engineer, John Mitchell. This year's Medal was won by Andrew Ridley whose sustained energy and appetite for developing and applying technology to help improve our understanding of Ground Engineering structures marks him out as a worthy recipient of the John Mitchell Award.

President's Medal

The President's Medal was this year won by William Hughes who is an associate director for Arcadis in Cardiff. Sir John was hugely impressed at the work Bill has done championing the Professional Apprenticeship Academy in Wales.

Telford Gold Medal

The Telford Gold Medal is the Institution's highest award for a published paper. The winning paper, 'The material point method for unsaturated soils' presents a formulation of the material point method (MPM) for unsaturated soils, coupling both the water and fluid flow with the mechanical response of the soil skeleton. In this respect, the addition of the air-phase in the formulation is novel. The committee concluded the winning paper was a well-presented formulation and application to a practical problem.

Other winners

Achievement and Development prizes and awards

Emerging Engineers Award
Paul Chambers
Paper Title: Investigation and Analysis of Temporary Propping at Crossrail Paddington

James Rennie Medal
Olivia Perkins CEng MICE
Project: Crossrail C300/410 Western Tunnels & Station Caverns

Jean Venables Medal
Lloyd Clough EngTech MICE
Project: Tree Houses, Center Parcs, Elveden Forest

Renée Redfern Hunt Memorial Prize
Spring 2016 session – Steven Betts CEng MICE

Tony Chapman Medal
Ivik Masek IEng MICE

Recognising service to the Institution prizes

Garth Watson Medal
Janice Parkinson

Promoting the Institution and the civil engineering profession prizes

Chris Binnie Award for Sustainable Water Management
Thames Water - Clearwater Court Bathroom Trial

Published papers awards

Thames Water won this year's Chris Binnie Award for the Clearwater Court Bathroom Trial
Thames Water won this year's Chris Binnie Award
for the Clearwater Court Bathroom Trial

A number of Prizes and awards were also issued for papers published by ICE Journals. All of the winning papers can be found in the ICE Virtual Library.