Crossrail engineer wins all-female James Rennie Medal final

Congratulations to newly qualified civil engineer Olivia Perkins, from Kier, who won the 2016 James Rennie Medal.

2016 James Rennie Medal winner Olivia Perkins, with ICE President Sir John Armitt.
2016 James Rennie Medal winner Olivia Perkins, with ICE President Sir John Armitt.

Newly qualified civil engineer Olivia Perkins, from Kier, won the 2016 James Rennie Medal for her Chartered Professional Review project report on Crossrail contract C300/410.

A bright future for the industry

This year we celebrated the 20th year of the James Rennie Medal. For the first time in the medal's history we had an all-female final.

In a high calibre final, Olivia competed with Victoria Martin from Expedition Engineering and Sonja Abhyankar from Arup for the prestigious award. The three finalists were selected from over 1,400 Chartered Professional Review candidates from 2015.

On winning the medal, Olivia said: 'I am very proud to be awarded the James Rennie Medal, I am incredibly grateful for the support I have had from my family and Kier. I am looking forward to the next stage of my career following this achievement and helping others with their own development.

I hope awards such as this inspires other engineers to gain broad experiences that can lead to their own chartership success.'

First-class presentations

Olivia's winning presentation described her role on Crossrail contract C300/410, working firstly with the tender team and then moving on site.

Valued at approximately £500m, the contract was awarded to BAM Ferrovial Kier Joint Venture in December 2010. The scope included two 6.5km long, 7.1m diameter TBM tunnel drives from Royal Oak to Farringdon and excavation of shafts, construction of sprayed concrete lined tunnels, and settlement mitigation and monitoring and other works at Bond Street and Tottenham Court Road Stations.

This year's final – sponsored by Arup, BAM Nuttall, Costain, Lagan Construction Group, Scottish Power Renewables and Skanska – was a competitive evening and all three finalists performed strongly.

ICE President Sir John Armitt said: 'Once again, we've had the pleasure of hearing three young engineers deliver first-class presentations on three very different projects. I hope that this has given everyone in the audience confidence that the future of our industry is in safe and expert hands.'

Celebrating our newly qualified members

The James Rennie Medal recognises the best Chartered Professional Review candidate of the year.

Earlier this year we recognised the best new engineering technician and incorporated engineer members. The Jean Venables Medal, awarded each year to the best Technician Professional Review candidate, was won by Lloyd Clough. Ivik Masek won the Tony Chapman Medal, awarded to the best Member Professional Review candidate.

Olivia, Lloyd and Ivik will be presented with their medals at the ICE Annual Awards Ceremony in October.