Skip to content

ICE Awards 2021: winners announced

20 October 2021

Recognising civil engineers and projects that have helped to improve the profession and contributed to the sustainability of infrastructure. 

ICE Awards 2021: winners announced
ICE President Rachel Skinner with Shaahid Ismail, the winner of this year's new award, the Bev Waugh Award for Productivity.

Engineers and civil engineering projects helping to combat climate change and improve the industry have been recognised at the 2021 ICE Awards.

Referring to her presidential theme of ‘Shaping Zero’, ICE President Rachel Skinner said in her opening speech at the ceremony that the profession needs to “put right the damage that as a society we know we have done and then cause no further harm”, and that the awards celebrate those who are making a difference.

This year’s awards also introduced the Bev Waugh Award for Productivity, which highlights an individual who works collaboratively to build project teams from multiple disciplines and organisations.

President’s Medal

The President’s Medal was awarded to ICE trustee and Vice President of ICE Richard Threlfall.

While not a civil engineer, Threlfall’s commitment to ICE over the last decade, advising the institution’s director general and multiple presidents, was recognised by the award. He has also contributed to ICE’s highest-profile publications and initiatives, such as Project 13 and State of the Nation, and worked closely with ICE in South East Asia, and helped to link the World Economic Forum to ICE.

Gold Medal

The Gold Medal winner was John Carpenter, who specialises in design risk management and has been published widely, with awards from ICE and IStructE for his work sharing knowledge and safety risks on buildings and structures.

Among his many committee roles, Carpenter was secretary to the Standing Committee on Structural Safety (SCOSS) and the Temporary Works Forum (TWF).

Brunel Medal

The Brunel award, which recognises excellence in the decarbonisation of infrastructure, was awarded to HKSAR and the Cross Bay Link (CBL) in Hong Kong. The 1.8km strategic road has a dual two-lane carriageway, a cycle track and a footway that will connect to the major new town of Tseung Kwan O.

The project reduced the carbon footprint in the delivery by 20,000 tonnes of CO2, about 40% compared to conventional steel construction, by using S690QL high-strength steel, extensive prefabrication and innovative erection technologies.

International Medal

As Permanent Secretary for Development Works, HKSAR, Sai Hung Lam was the winner of this year’s International Medal for his outstanding and long-lasting contribution to reducing carbon from construction in Hong Kong, and ongoing work to nurture young engineers.

With an extensive career at the government for Hong Kong, Lam has been an industry leader for green construction, promoting low-carbon construction and infrastructure, emission reduction and the use of recycled materials in public works projects.

Edmund Hambly Medal

For its innovative design and efforts to address climate action, the Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works to Caverns was selected as this year’s Edmund Hambly Medal winner.

The relocation of Sha Tin Sewage treatment works to Caverns was a pioneering project in Hong Kong to initiate the local cavern development for more sustainable land use. While aiming to mitigate the long-lasting shortage of residential land, the project will upgrade the ageing treatment facility to be more energy-efficient and reduce the associated carbon footprint.

Chris Binnie Award for Sustainable Water Management

The Anderson Road Grey Water Treatment Plant in Hong Kong was awarded the Chris Binnie prize for sustainable water management, for its benefits, value for money and sustainability.

The project supplies on-site treated grey water for toilet flushing for the population of 30,000 at the former Anderson Road Quarry site, solving the problem – caused by its high altitude and distance from the seashore - of using seawater for toilet flushing.

Meanwhile, the project ‘Unlocking the Severn’ from the Canal & River Trust received the ‘highly commended’ title, for having one of the earliest deep slot fish passes, to help migrating fish.

The Canal & River Trust, along with the Severn Rivers Trust, launched a project to put four deep slot fish passes on the Severn and its tributaries, including raising £17m funding. Now complete, fish can be seen swimming past the underwater viewing gallery.

Bev Waugh Award for Productivity

The new Bev Waugh Award for productivity was introduced to recognise a leader/individual who quietly broadened the perspective of the team, leads with kindness, values the views of others, and constructively questions the status quo to create a people-centred, ‘best for project’ culture.

Shaahid Ismail, project manager on HS2 and Connect Plus Service, was hailed as embodying the spirit of this award.

Ismail was selected to lead a challenging project in Kent on behalf of Connect Plus and Highways England. This involved procuring design and works contracts and delivering £5m of critical pavement renewals. He quickly formed and propelled a team of people with competing priorities to work towards completing the works safely, successfully, to programme, and under budget.

Ismail demonstrated that he understood people and behaviours, and has proven that collaboration and open dialogue was possible and pays dividends.

Garth Watson Medal

The winner of this year’s Garth Watson Medal was Penny Marshall, for her service to ICE.

Marshall retired this year, having been a lifetime member of ICE and an ICE regional director in the North East and Yorkshire and Humber for the past decade.

She dedicated herself to raising the profile of civil engineering and improving access to the industry for females, and left a legacy of established programmes raising the profile of civil engineering within universities and schools in her regions.

Bruce Walsh, the institution’s group financial controller, was highly commended in this category for his tireless work in navigating the ICE financially through the difficulties brought on by the pandemic.

Warren Medal

Emma Dickson, current chair of ICE Scotland, was recognised for her valuable and ongoing service to the Scotland region with the Warren Medal

Dickson was the first female chair of the Glasgow branch in 2017, and helped establish the branch’s first diversity and inclusivity sub-committee. She also serves as the Scotland representative on the ICE national Fairness, Inclusion and Respect committee.

ICE Prestige Award winners 2021

  • President’s Medal – Richard Threlfall
  • Gold Medal – John Carpenter
  • Brunel Medal - Cross Bay Link – Civil Engineering and Development Department, HKSAR
  • International Medal - Mr LAM Sai-hung, JP, Development bureau HKSAR
  • Edmund Hambly Medal - Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works to Caverns, Site preparation and Access Tunnel Construction
  • Chris Binnie Award for Sustainable Water Management - Anderson Road Grey Water Treatment Plant, Hong Kong SAR, China
    • Highly commended - Unlocking the Severn – Canal & River Trust
  • Bev Waugh Award for Productivity - Shaahid Ismail
  • Garth Watson Medal - Penny Marshall
    • Highly commended – Bruce Walsh
  • Warren Medal – Emma Dickson
  • Adam Kirkup, engineering communities manager at ICE