66th ICE Yorkshire and Humber awards now open

ICE Yorkshire and Humber launches 66th annual awards celebrating civil engineering in the region.

Winners from the ICE Yorkshire and Humber Awards 2020.
Winners from the ICE Yorkshire and Humber Awards 2020.

The 66th annual ICE Yorkshire and Humber awards have opened for entries.

The region is inviting engineering firms and organisations from across the Yorkshire and the Humber to showcase their work as it gears up for its prestigious annual awards ceremony which will take place in March 2021.

Projects with a value of more than £5 million are eligible for the Centenary Award, those with a value more of less than £5 million can be entered into the Smeaton Award, and the Sir John Fowler Award is for research projects and studies.

Nominations are open to projects completed or substantially completed in the last two years, with the winners announced at the ICE Yorkshire and the Humber Awards Ceremony which will take place online, on March 5, 2021. 

Last year's winners

In 2020, the Whitby Piers Coast Protection Scheme was the Centenary Award winner,
Cottingham and Orchard Park Flood Alleviation Scheme Phase 1, was the Smeaton Award winner, and the Sir John Fowler award was presented to the HS2 Impact Assessment, delivered by Stantec on behalf of Yorkshire Water.

Steena Nasapen-Watson, ICE Yorkshire and the Humber Regional Director, said: “The annual awards recognise the delivery of effective infrastructure projects and promote the very best of civil engineering across the Yorkshire and the Humber. 

“Each year, they are keenly contested by the region’s leading engineering and project management firms, and I am expecting another strong cohort of entries for 2021.

“It is important to showcase the outstanding work in the art of civil engineering throughout Yorkshire and the surrounding areas, as these projects contribute so much to society and improve people’s everyday lives. We are excited to bring our awards online for 2021 and look forward to seeing the entries.” 

Entry information

The fee for completed entries received by the closing date of Friday 11 December 2020 is £200 exc. VAT.

For further information about the awards and to enter, visit our dedicated awards page.  

Enter here