ICE Northern Ireland win Thomas Telford Trophy

ICE Yorkshire & Humber hosted the competition at Pannal Golf Club in Harrogate.

The winning team with their trophy.
The winning team with their trophy.

ICE Northern Ireland has won the Thomas Telford Trophy for the second year in a row, beating West Midlands and Glasgow & West of Scotland with an impressive 205 points.

This year's winning team was 2017 Captain Dion Williams (DWW Consulting), Gavin Wilson (Belfast Harbour), Edward Bill (Graham Construction), and Simon White (Atkins).

The Thomas Telford Trophy is ICE's premier golf event, contested between teams of four from ICE's 16 UK regions. The competition, first played in 1986 at Wentworth, has been hosted at some of the most famous venues in the game in subsequent years. Northern Ireland have hosted the event twice at Royal Portrush in 1991 and 2007, the latter of which the host team won.

As well as participating in the Thomas Telford Trophy, the ICE Golf Society organises several events throughout the year at some of Northern Ireland's best courses. 2018's fixtures will be published in early 2018. ICE members of all grades and golfing ability are encouraged to try an event next year, and they are more than welcome to bring guests. The society has provided an important social dimension for ICE members in Northern Ireland for over 50 years and that is a tradition the society hopes to maintain.