QUEST marks ICE 200 bicentenary

QUEST is to boost the number of scholarships and awards granted in 2018 to 200, in support of the ICE 200 bicentenary celebrations.

QUEST marks the ICE 200 bicentenary
ICE 200 logo
QUEST marks the ICE 200 bicentenary

QUEST is ICE's flagship scholarship programme which has provided financial help to civil engineering students for the past 40 years.

2018 will also see the first awards for the new QUEST Technician Plus Scholarship which further underlines the programme's aim to reach and support professionally qualified members at all levels.

You can read first-hand how QUEST has benefited the careers of past and present scholars in our special 40th anniversary publication.

Download your free QUEST 40th anniversary publication

QUEST scholar sucesses

QUEST Undergraduate Scholarships were awarded to 75 first year university students this year – supported by leading civil engineering companies, donors and members.

QUEST awards are offered to outstanding candidates who are put through a rigorous application process and interview day in order to be successful.

The scholarship is worth up to £10,000 over the course of study with paid placements for most scholars.

QUEST Undergraduate Scholarship 2017 winners

Name Employer
Adeoluwatofunmi Adeyemi CF Lunoe Trust
William Argent SKANSKA
Sophie Ashdown SKANSKA
Isabel Barclay Morgan Sindall C&I
Harry Barlow-Edwards Morgan Sindall C&I
Alice Bennett Costain
Annabel Brooks Peter Brett Associates
Ciara Burke Graham
Samuel Cartwright CF Lunoe Trust
Thomas Cassidy Morgan Sindall C&I
James Colley Morgan Sindall C&I
Ella Cudmore Atkins
Matthew Day CF Lunoe Trust
Ruth Dobson Morgan Sindall C&I
Nuala Durkin WSP
Ross Fairgrieve Laing O’Rouke
Samuel Foster BakerHicks
Luke  Garland Hochtief
Matthew Gibson Morgan Sindall C&I
Lydia Green WSP
Cian Gregg Mott McDonald
Oliver Hall Atkins
Maria Higgins CF Lunoe Trust
Peter Homer BAM Nuttall
Charles Hough Peter Brett Associates
Joseph Houghton Taylor Woodrow VINCI UK
Sam Jackman Morgan Sindall C&I
Cara Kelly Watkins Galliford Try
Freya Kille SKANSKA
Amy Laird Graham
Ryan Lamprell Galliford Try
Eleanor Lee Tony Gee
Kathryn Lenton Morgan Sindall C&I
Matthew Lewis Atkins
Nicola Lines WSP
Ryan Maginnis Morgan Sindall C&I
George Malone Peter Brett Associates
Marta Martin Sanchez Morgan Sindall C&I
Meg McAteer Atkins
Megan McKenna Morgan Sindall C&I
Lucy Mottram SKANSKA
Christopher Murphy Morgan Sindall C&I
Joshua Murray Atkins
Hirandeep Nijjar Morgan Sindall C&I
William O'Neill WSP
Rebecca Paramor Morgan Sindall C&I
Lauren Park Tony Gee
Indra Peachey Taylor Woodrow VINCI UK
William Peters Taylor Woodrow VINCI UK
Rhys  Phillips BAM Nuttall
Samuel Poppleton Hochtief
David Price Tony Gee
Daniel Procter Galliford Try
James Quinney AMCO
Beth Robertson WSP
Amelia Rupp Mott McDonald
Fiya Shah AVENT
Joseph Short Morgan Sindall C&I
Katherine Siggs WSP
Jack Sissons Atkins
Emily Stuart-Lyon Taylor Woodrow VINCI UK
Rowan Taylor CF Lunoe Trust
Georgina Taylor Costain
Amy Teo Morgan Sindall C&I
Balaram Thirukumar CF Lunoe Trust
Patrick Toone Hochtief
Emily Tougher-Mitchell AVENT
Adam Turner Taylor Woodrow VINCI UK
Kathryn Tyley SKANSKA
Joe Wagstaff Taylor Woodrow VINCI UK
Oliver Walters Galliford Try
Alexander Watson BakerHicks
Joseph Westhead SKANSKA
Sam Whelan Costain
Kyra Wilson WSP

QUEST Travel Award winners (autumn)

Members also received grants for civil engineering-related travel – many to enable them to work on charitable projects to help provide infrastructure in some of the poorest parts of the world.

Developing Productive Public Learning Spaces, Kenya – Jenny Durie
Investigation of post-earthquake repair techniques in rural Nepal – Alex Shepherd & Glen Utting
Construction and Renovation, Philippines – Christos Kyriacou
Design principles and refugee shelters, Jordan – Alice Bond & Jago Boase
Building Better Schools, Sabre Trust, Ghana – Adam White

QUEST Continuing Education Award winners

Our last group of autumn winners have received funding to improve their knowledge and skills.

Name Employer Knowledge
Scott Carruthers Atkins LLM Construction Law
Mohammad Yadollahi Cullen, Grummit & Roe MSc Construction Law and Dispute Resolution
Chancel Rethish Kumar Jacobs UK Ltd MSc Soil Mechanics
Jamie O'Shea Bouygues Construction NEBOSH International Diploma in Occupational Health & Safety

Supporting QUEST

The QUEST Committee and all our scholars would like to thank the huge range of companies, donors and individual members for their continued and vital support.

Individually, you can add your support by opting to make a donation to the programme with your yearly ICE subscription payment.

If your company would be interested in supporting QUEST please contact Denise or Tamara at or 0207 665 2193.