Sarah Teliani named Innovator of the Year 2017

The award recognises emerging talent in civil engineering.

Sarah Teliani receives award from ICE President Professor Tim Broyd.
Sarah Teliani receives award from ICE President Professor Tim Broyd.

Sarah Teliani a student at the University of Brighton has won the ICE – Balfour Beatty Innovator of the Year Award 2017, winning a placement with the Balfour Beatty Health, Safety, Environment and Sustainability team.

The Award recognises the emerging talent in civil engineering and provides an opportunity for students at any stage of their studies to become actively involved in the profession and put their key learnings into practice.

Sarah was one of many students who submitted entries in the nationwide competition which asked participants to answer the question: "As a civil engineer, what would you do to achieve zero harm in the construction industry?"

Her response impressed the judges which included integrating digital technologies to improve health and safety. Sarah was among six shortlisted and invited to London give a final presentation in front of a panel of judges from ICE and Balfour Beatty.

After competing against the other shortlisted entrants, she was announced as the winner of the prestigious award.

Reacting to the award announcement Sarah Teliani said. "I was really surprised when I won – it's an honour and I am excited to start my placement with Balfour Beatty".

Sarah was also given the opportunity to accompany ICE President Professor Tim Broyd on his official visit to South East England, where she saw key infrastructure projects in the region including the Dover Western Dock Revival development and the historic Rochester Bridge Trust. During the visit ICE President Professor Tim Broyd presented Sarah Teliani with a Gold Certificate officially recognising her as the Innovator of the Year.

Sarah is in her final year at the University of Brighton and plays an active role within ICE as a Vice Chairman of the ICE South East Graduate and Student Committee (South Branch).