Skip to content

Andrew Jones MP elected new chair of All-Party Parliamentary Group

23 July 2020

The former Treasury and Transport Minister brings a wealth of experience to the parliamentary group.

Andrew Jones MP elected new chair of All-Party Parliamentary Group
Andrew Jones MP

Andrew Jones MP has been appointed the new Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Infrastructure (APPGI).

He was elected at an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Group on Tuesday 21 July.

The APPGI is Parliament’s leading cross-party group dedicated to economic infrastructure in the UK.

The Group works to highlight the importance of infrastructure, engineering and the use of underground space to the economy and society. It aims to act as a champion on behalf of the sector and show policymakers why and how we should invest in, plan and deliver the infrastructure and underground structures that Britain requires.

Jones, who is the Member of Parliament for Harrogate and Knaresborough said:

"It is an exciting time for our approach to delivering new and upgrading existing infrastructure and it is great to support industry through chairing this All Party Parliamentary Group. Whether residential or industrial, good infrastructure will improve everyone's daily lives.

"As the country begins its resurgence from the coronavirus pandemic and finds its new normal, infrastructure will play a large part in our recovery. The Government is looking to invest heavily in capital projects and I look forward to working with my fellow Members of Parliament and the Institution of Civil Engineers as we keep infrastructure at the forefront of our nation’s recovery."

Jones succeeds Vicky Ford MP, who was appointed Parliamentary Undersecretary of State for Children and Families in the Department for Education in February.

He brings with him a wealth of experience, having worked as the Exchequer Secretary to HM Treasury before moving to the Department of Transport as Parliamentary Undersecretary of State.

Alan Brown MP, who stood in as Acting Chair since Ford’s promotion, remains as the Group’s co-Chair. Former Chair of the APPGI, Stephen Hammond was confirmed as a new Officer for the Group, alongside Lord Chidgey, who is a Fellow of the Institution.

The full list of officers for the APPGI are:

  • Andrew Jones (Conservative) – Chair
  • Alan Brown MP (SNP) – Co-Chair
  • Chi Onwurah MP (Labour) – Officer
  • Stephen Hammond (Conservative) - Officer
  • Lord Stunnel (Liberal Democrat) - Officer
  • Baroness Neville-Rolfe (Conservative) – Officer
  • Lord Berkeley (Labour) – Officer
  • Lord Chidgey (Liberal Democrat) - Officer

The APPGI has already helped to bring infrastructure to the forefront of British politics. From raising the profile of major infrastructure projects and their benefits amongst parliamentarians to advising the Government on key matters relating to the built environment, the APPGI’s recognition has grown tremendously.

You can get involved with the APPGI’s activities by contacting: [email protected].

  • Vanessa Furey, head of external affairs at Institution of Civil Engineers