Skip to content

Blackpool roller coaster wins civil engineering award

18 March 2019

ICE North West’s Civil Engineering Awards 2019 recognised people and projects from a wide range of civil engineering disciplines.

Blackpool roller coaster wins civil engineering award

A Blackpool roller coaster is one of the projects that have won prizes at ICE North West's Civil Engineering Awards.

The event, hosted by ICE North West Regional Chair Tom Glovehew, took place on 14 March 2019 at The Hilton Manchester Deansgate. It was compered by broadcaster Andy Crane, with a keynote address from ICE President Andrew Wyllie.

Details of the winners can be found below.

Large Project of the Year (over £15m)

Sponsored by GHD

Winner: Davyhulme Modernisation Project (DMP) - United Utilities PLC, Laing O'Rourke

Davyhulme Modernisation Project.

The judges agreed that the DMP demonstrated the scope of the civil engineering profession, casting a spotlight onto world-class wastewater treatment. It won for its on-time, on-budget delivery with a whole-project approach to health and safety.

Other nominees:

  • A6 Manchester Airport Relief Road - Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council, SWECO DJV, Morgan Sindall
  • Liverpool Lime Street Station Capacity Enhancement - Network Rail, SNC-Lavalin Atkins, Buckingham Group Contracting Ltd

Medium Project of the Year (£5-£15m)

Winner: ICON - Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Westlakes Engineering, Addison Projects

This exciting project provided an inventive engineering solution to a complex problem, on a highly constricted site. BIM technology accelerated and improved the safe design and construction of the roller coaster.

Other nominees:

  • Morecambe Wave Wall Replacement - Lancaster City Council, VBA, Environment Agency
  • Preston Wastewater Treatment Works - United Utilities, Mott MacDonald Bentley, GHD Livigunn
  • Sellafield Windscale Pile Chimney Crane Design & Installation – Sellafield Ltd, Design Services Alliance, ADAPT, Mammoet
  • Wirral Dock Bridges Replacement - Wirral Council, Dawnus Construction Holdings, Ramboll UK Ltd

Small Project of the Year (up to £5m)

Winner: Crosshill Service Reservoir United Utilities, Eric Wright Water Ltd

Judged to be a worthy winner due to its adoption of a cutting-edge digital solution, to future proof the structure and maintain water quality. It shows that heritage infrastructure can clearly benefit from advances in technology.

Other nominees:

  • Blackpool Station North – Network Rail, Atkins, Volker Rail, Murphy
  • Marple Makeover - Canal & River Trust, KIER, Arcadis
  • Upper Chelburn Reservoir Remedial Works - United Utilities, Mott MacDonald Bentley
  • Warland Impounding Reservoir - United Utilities, Mott MacDonald Bentley

Community Award

Winner: Salford Traffic Free Routes - Salford City Council, Urban Vision, Horticon Ltd, The Casey Group Ltd, Groundwork Landscapes Ltd

Salford Traffic Free Routes demonstrated how a relatively small engineering project can make a significant change to the environment, promoting safe cycling and walking, leading to healthier lifestyles for local residents.

Highly Commended: Morecambe Wave Wall - Lancaster City Council, VBA, Environment Agency

Other nominees:

  • Maghull North Station - Network Rail, Mott MacDonald Ltd, Buckingham Group Contracting Ltd, Merseytravel
  • A6 Manchester Airport Relief Road - Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council, SWECO DJV, Morgan Sindall
  • Accrington Townscape Heritage Initiative - Lancashire County Council, IBI Group, NMS Civil Engineering Ltd, Hyndburn Borough Council, Heritage Lottery Fund

Constructability Award

New in 2019, sponsored by the Temporary Works Forum

Winner: Landmark – Bowmer + Kirkland, Andun Ltd, Curtins

This ICE North West Chair’s Constructability Award focuses on the collaborative approach to temporary works and buildability. Landmark won due to their innovative approach in combining temporary and permanent works, to solve the challenges on site.

Other nominees:

Maghull North Station - Network Rail, Mott MacDonald Ltd, Buckingham Group Contracting Ltd, Merseytravel

Diversity Award

Sponsored by Tony Gee

Winner: InterEngineering North West

It is encouraging to see so many examples of good practice to celebrate. InterEngineering North West won for their approach to supporting LGBT+ engineers across the whole industry.

Other nominees:

  • Curtins
  • Mott MacDonald North West Rail Team
  • Sellafield Ltd

Mentor Award

Winner: Russell Smith

The judges regarded Smith as an outstanding advocate for civil engineering. He supports many young engineers towards their qualifications and is promoting a supportive culture throughout his company.

Other nominees:

Nicholas Brookes

Volunteer Award

Winner: Jason Hyde

Hyde's commitment to supporting young people is clear through the many voluntary activities he carries out. He also spearheads the ICE relationship with the Museum of Science & Industry reaching many hundreds of people via STEM activities.

Other nominees:

  • Jennie Harrison
  • Nushma Juwaheer
  • Alison Waterworth

Heritage Award

Sponsored by Mott MacDonald

Winner: Manchester Airport

Manchester Airport’s cultural and economic impact on the North West has been enormous. It continues to be an iconic site as it adapts and grows to meet the travelling needs of the public, making it a worthy winner.

Other nominees:

  • Lock 15
  • Marple Aqueduct
  • Plover Scar Lighthouse

Will you be a winner next year?

To take part in next year's awards, contact Lauren Moczulski for more details.

  • Lynn Caddy, communications lead at Institution of Civil Engineers