Skip to content

Design principles shine through for ICE Wales Cymru Ben Barr Award 2023 winner

08 August 2023

Adam Taylor, highway drainage lead at AECOM, demonstrated exceptional understanding during his Professional Review.

Design principles shine through for ICE Wales Cymru Ben Barr Award 2023 winner
Adam Taylor is helping deliver flood alleviation schemes across Wales

This year’s ICE Wales Cymru Ben Barr Award has been presented to Adam Taylor, a highway drainage lead at AECOM, Cardiff.

The Ben Barr Award is presented to an engineer, living or working in Wales, who has demonstrated exceptional qualities during their Professional Review the previous year (2021 for 2022).

Consideration is given for their use of engineering principles, knowledge of construction, and in the design and construction of temporary or permanent works.

There are normally three categories - CEng MICE, IEng MICE and EngTech MICE.

Candidates are nominated by their two reviewers and a winner is chosen from the shortlist.

Applying design principles

Taylor impressed the judges with his knowledge of design and its application.

He wrote part of the new Design Manual for Roads and Bridges (DMRB) and the Manual of Contract Documents for Highway Works (MCHW), which are drainage standards for National Highways.

Taylor said he was honoured to receive the award: “Achieving chartered status with the institution has been a long-held goal; to receive this recognition from my reviewers and peers is the highlight of my career to date.”

Taylor is currently engaged delivering flood alleviation schemes across Wales.

Keith Jones, director of ICE Wales Cymru, recognised Taylor’s efforts.

He said: “My congratulations go to Adam who has shown great foresight in applying his knowledge to the standards followed by the industry.

“I hope the recognition which comes from winning this award will lead to future such achievements”.

About the award

The Ben Barr Award is named after a former chairman of ICE Wales Cymru and is sponsored by Symmons Madge Associates.

The award will be presented at the ICE Wales Cymru annual awards gala dinner on 22 September at the Marriott Hotel, Cardiff.

  • Belinda Thomas, communications lead at ICE Wales Cymru