Skip to content

ICE Members recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list

28 June 2022

A number of ICE Members received OBE’s as this year’s New Year Honours list was announced.

ICE Members recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list
Rod McDonald receives an OBE in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours

They include Geoff Allister CEng FICE who received an OBE for services to Highway Engineering in Northern Ireland. Geoff is Executive Director of the Highway Term Maintenance Association (HTMS) where he acts as their public advocate as it strives to promote and develop an effective and safe highways management and maintenance industry. Prior to joining the HTMA in 2012, Geoff was Chief Executive of Northern Ireland's Roads Service and led the delivery of the province's multi-million pound strategic roads programme. He is a Fellow of ICE.

Also honoured with an OBE, for services to consultancy and engineering, is Rod MacDonald CEng FICE. A founding partner and former chairman of Buro Happold, Rod currently works in a number of infrastructure and construction sectors and is chairman of Civic Patterns. In 2015 he chaired the judging panel for the ICE 2015 London Engineering Awards.

Dana Skelley CEng MICE is a Director of Asset Management for Transport for London whose 26 year contribution to the highways and transportation sector was recognised with an OBE. Dana was the first woman ever to be named Surveyor/ICE Municipals 'Engineer of the Year' and leads a team of around 500 engineers and asset managers in her role at TfL.

John Laverick CEng FICE who is Vice-President of Wilts and Berks Canal Trust was awarded an MBE for his voluntary service to Waterways Management and Restoration. Michael Lee CEng MICE, a volunteer with Kennet and Avon Canal Trust, also received a BEM for services to the Restoration of the Kennet and Avon Canal.

In the Military, Lieutenant Colonel Gavin Hatcher CEng MICE of the Corps of Royal Engineers was awarded an OBE.

Other notable (non-members) who were honoured include Non-Executive Director of the WISE Campaign, Dr Nina Skorupska. Dr Skorupska is Chief Executive of the Renewable Energy Association and was awarded her OBE for services to Renewables and Equality in the Energy Industry.

Lucy Shaw, Chief Executive Officer of HighSpeed1 and Non-Executive Director, Aer Lingus plc was awarded an OBE for services to Transport and Fiona Alfred, Executive Director of the Association of Women in Property was awarded an OBE for services to Women in the Property and Construction Industry.

Congratulations to all.

  • Simon Barney, head of communications at ICE