Skip to content

Nominations open for ICE awards 2020

13 January 2020

Do you know a person or project worthy of recognition for their spectacular work in civil engineering?

Nominations open for ICE awards 2020

ICE is calling for nominations for the ICE Annual Awards 2020, which recognise outstanding civil engineering achievements and contribution to the profession and the Institution.

Winning an ICE Award is an impressive milestone for a civil engineer or project, providing the winner with not only a medal, but recognition within the industry.

If you know of a deserving person or project, please consider putting them forward for one of the awards.

Need some inspiration? Check out who won last year.

What are the ICE Annual Awards categories?
There are seven categories to choose from:

Gold Medal (individual) - an award for civil engineering excellence to an individual whose sustained contribution to civil engineering over many years is of sufficient magnitude and stature to merit an Institution premier award.

International Medal (individual based) - awarded annually to a civil engineer for outstanding contribution to civil engineering outside the UK.

Garth Watson Medal (individual based) - awarded for long, dedicated and valuable service to the Institution by a member or member of staff.

Warren Medal (individual based) - awarded to a member of the Institution in recognition of valuable service rendered to his or her region.

Edmund Hambly Medal (project based) - an award for the creative design of an engineering project that makes a substantial contribution to sustainable development.

Brunel Medal (project based) - an award to recognise valuable service or achievement, which has been rendered to or within the civil engineering industry.

Chris Binnie Award (sector based - assessed by ICE Water Expert Panel) - an award for work which has benefited society by improving the sustainability of water.

The deadline for submissions is Friday 3 April 2020. The winners are decided by the ICE Awards Committee, with announcements made at the ICE Awards Ceremony on Monday, 4 October 2020.

You can find more information on our ICE Awards page or by contacting the central communications team.

  • Danny Whitebread, Communications Specialist at World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO)