Skip to content

Online awards recognise civil engineering excellence

02 April 2020

The North West’s best civil engineers and projects have been recognised in a virtual awards ceremony.

Online awards recognise civil engineering excellence

Civil engineers from across the region were invited to join an online awards ceremony on 2 April to hear which people and projects had won a coveted ICE North West Civil Engineering Award.

Nine winners were announced at the digital ceremony including awards for best large, medium and small civil engineering projects which were won by Warrington West railway station, Newton-Le-Willows railway station and the A54 Buxton Road Safety Improvements, respectively.

The ‘Constructability’ award focuses on the collaborative approach to temporary works and buildability and was won by the Churchill Way Flyover Deconstruction project., Liverpool.

Other categories included best Community Project, Heritage and Diversity which were won by Campus Whitehaven, Thirlmere Aqueduct, and Building Equality.

A number of individuals also received awards including Joanna Bateman of WSP for North West STEM Volunteer of the Year and Martyn Frackelton of Mott MacDonald for North West Mentor of the Year.

Emma Antrobus, Director of ICE North West, said; “Our annual awards showcase some of the fantastic civil engineering across the region.

“Following the cancellation of our physical event, we have pulled together to deliver the awards online, shining a light on some of the most innovative and impactful engineering recently completed within the region.

“It is a particularly challenging time but we felt it was right to help spread some positivity and showcase the important role that civil engineers play in terms of working to build a better world.

“My congratulations go to all who were nominated and of course, the winners.”

Full Winners’ List – ICE North West Awards 2020

Large Project Award

Warrington West Railway Station

Medium Project Award

Newton-Le-Willows Station Redevelopment

Small Project Award

A54 Buxton Road Safety Improvements
Highly Commended – Hope Street Hotel Extension, Liverpool

Constructability Award

Churchill Way Flyover Deconstruction, Liverpool

Community Award

Campus Whitehaven

Diversity Award

Building Equality
Highly Commended – John Sisk & Son

Mentor Award

Martyn Frackelton, Mott MacDonald
Highly Commended – Perry Shard, Balfour Beatty

STEM Volunteer Award

Joanna Bateman, WSP
Highly Commended – Sarah Loughrey, Jacobs

Heritage Award

Thirlmere Aqueduct

See why these projects were selected with our video

Watch now

  • Lynn Caddy, communications lead at Institution of Civil Engineers