Skip to content

Queen Elizabeth Prize nominations launch

17 April 2020

Nominations for the 2021 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) will open around the world on 21 April.

Queen Elizabeth Prize nominations launch

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering is a global prize that, every two years, celebrates the successes of modern engineering.

The £1 million QEPrize is awarded to up to five engineers responsible for bold, groundbreaking engineering innovation that is of global benefit to humanity. The prize also encourages engineers to help extend the boundaries of what is possible across all disciplines and applications.

Competition Criteria

The judges, a group of engineering experts from around the world, will use these criteria to select the winner, or winners:

  • What is it that this person has done (or up to five people have done) that is a ground-breaking innovation in engineering?
  • In what way has this innovation been of global benefit to humanity?
  • Is there anyone else who might claim to have had a pivotal role in this development?

The previous 2019 prize was awarded to Dr Bradford Parkinson, Professor James Spilker, Jr, Hugo FrueHauf, and Richard Schwartz for their work on the Global Positioning System (GPS).

Find out more about this year's competition criteria and read the terms and conditions.

Read about previous winners

  • Andrew Panos, digital content editor at ICE