Sir Alcon Copisarow Medal Awarded to Christopher Bakken

On 21st October, Christopher Bakken was awarded with the inaugural Sir Alcon Copisarow Medal of the British Section of the Société des Ingénieurs et Scientifiques de France (IESF).

Sir Alcon Copisarow presents the medal to Christopher Bakken
Sir Alcon Copisarow presents the medal to Christopher Bakken

The medal is for a professionally qualified engineer, or scientist, of any background who achieves distinction in the promotion of international collaboration and encouragement of innovation.

The award was made to Christopher Bakken in recognition of his outstanding contribution as the Executive Director of EDF Energy's Nuclear New Build Team and as Project Director of Hinkley Point 'C'. The planned construction programme will deliver a new 3.2GW nuclear facility – the first in the UK for 27 years.

Directing this Anglo-French operation has been a hugely challenging task and required sensitive handling at every stage in order to enable delivery of the planned benefits for the local community and wider society.

Chris Bakken said "I am humbled by this award. It is a great pleasure to accept it and the recognition of the achievements of my team. The Hinkley Point C project will help the UK meet its long term electricity supply needs. It will also bring widespread benefits to the UK including jobs and skills and economic benefits. I'm proud to be leading this project".

Dr Peter Blair-Fish, the President of the British Section of IESF said "This award recognises Chris Bakken's immense contribution to the future of nuclear power in the UK".

To find out more about IESF and the Sir Alcon Copisarow Award, please visit the following link: