Yorkshire and Humber award winners announced

ICE Yorkshire and Humber has announced the winners of its annual awards, which are given to the region’s top civil engineering projects.

The team from the Centenary Award winning Leeds Station Southern Entrance project
The team from the Centenary Award winning Leeds Station Southern Entrance project

The winners, which were selected from a shortlist of exemplary projects, were announced by ICE President Sir John Armitt at a gala dinner, held on Friday 11 March at Sheffield's iconic City Hall.

The new south entrance to Leeds Station won the Centenary Award, for projects in excess of £5m. The entrance was designed by Carillion Rail Ltd, Mott MacDonald and AHR Architects, and constructed by Carillion Rail Ltd and William Hare Structural Engineers, for the West Yorkshire Combined Authority and Network Rail.

The Smeaton Award, for projects between £500,000 and £5m, was won by the Scarborough Railway Bridge, over River Ouse in York. The project was commissioned and designed by Network Rail and delivered by Story Contracting.

The Sir John Fowler Award, for projects up to a value of £500,000, went to the Naburn Weir Elver and Lamprey Pass, near York. It was commissioned and designed by the Environment Agency, and built by Balvac Limited.

Sir John Armitt said: "I would like to congratulate all of the award winners, these infrastructure projects exemplify the very best of civil engineering in Yorkshire and northern Lincolnshire. From design, through to construction and ongoing maintenance, infrastructure projects like these shape the world in which we live, improve our quality of life and drive local economies.

"Presenting the ICE Yorkshire and Humber awards was the culmination of an inspiring visit to Yorkshire, where I have seen civil engineering innovation in action at the Sheffield Tram-Train project, discussed future infrastructure with City Region leaders and seen the fantastic work being done to get more young people into the profession."

See the full list of award winners and recipients of certificates