Skip to content

The Carbon Project

Towards net zero for Infrastructure

What is behind a Carbon Champion?

Infrastructure in the UK is responsible for more than half of the UK’s total carbon emissions. As engineers, our responsibility to act is clear.

The Carbon Project aims to provide our engineering community with the information needed to understand the net zero challenge, and to meaningfully contribute to reaching the UK’s net zero goal.

Read more on Good progress but not fast enough.

Our work

The Carbon Project is an industry-wide initiative, bringing together leaders and experts from across the supply chain to tackle some of the challenges that are slowing progress towards net zero.

It represents the start of a long-term programme of collaborative work, which will seek to share knowledge and best practice on delivering low-carbon solutions across the industry.

The work has been driven by a steering group of industry leaders, chaired by ICE President Rachel Skinner and focused on three workstreams where ICE can make an immediate impact and provide focus for our activities before, during and after COP26.

Chair: Kat Ibbotson - Programme carbon and cost manager – Environment Agency

The net zero challenge, in all its scale and complexity, requires a cross-industry response with collaboration at its heart. An open approach to carbon reporting will hasten industry transformation and bolster collaborative efforts. The whole value chain – including asset owner/managers, designers, constructors and product/material suppliers – should be able to contribute to and benefit from these developments.

With thanks to the following working group members:

Name Position Employer
Bekir Andrews Associate Director, Group Sustainability Balfour Beatty
Tom Bracanti Associate Director KPMG
Lucy Bradbury EMEA & UKI Sustainability Manager Aecom
Helen Bresser Principal Environmental Consultant Amey
Mark Button Senior Engineer/Resilience4Ports Project Lead Arup/The Resilience Shift
Mark Coates Director Strategic Industry Engagement Bentley Systems
Stacey Collins Energy, Indsutrial & Infrastructure Partner Pinsent Masons
Priyesh Depala Investment Planning Advisor Mott MacDonald
Mark Edwards Technical Director - Climate Change & Sustainability Arcadis
Terry Ellis Associate Arup
Veronica Flint Williams Contract and Risk Manager Environment Agency
Polly Gourlay Sustainability Lead Qualis Flow
Janet Greenwood Director, Infrastructure Advisory KPMG
Tina Gunnarsson Digital Transformation Lead, Major Projects Balfour Beatty
Neil Guthrie Carbon Manager Environment Agency
Sarah Halpin Director, Sustainable Solutions Ramboll
Brittany Harris CEO and Co-Founder Qualis Flow
Ian Heaphy Director/Member of Contract Board IN Construction Consulting/NEC
Aleister Hellier Head of Benchmarking IPA
Tim Hou Assistant Civil Engineer/Presidents Future Leader 2019-2020 Mott MacDonald/ICE
Adrian Johnson Technical Director Stantec
Flavie Lowres Associate Director BRE
Brogan Macdonald Structural Engineer Ramboll
Michelle McAteer Carbon and Compliance Manager Balfour Beatty
Ian Nicholson Construction Innovation Hub Value Delivery Lead BRE
Ioanna Papanikolaou Infrastructure Advisory/Honorary Lecturer KPMG/UCL
Richard Patterson NEC and Procurement Specialist; Water Project Finance and Procurement Team Mott MacDonald
Alan Phelan CEO SourceDogg
Tom Powell Programme Cost & Carbon Forecasting Manager Environment Agency
Lawrence Slade CEO Global Infrastructure Investor Association
Georgina Taylor Environment & Sustainability Business Partner Amey
Richard White Flood Risk Engineer Environment Agency

Chair: Steve Denton - Executive Director & Head of Civil, Bridge and Ground Engineering at WSP

Making progress on net zero carbon design and delivery against the demands of clients, society and pressures on costs requires new skills, refreshed knowledge and professional support, especially when it comes to new regulations, challenging design standards and codes, specification of zero carbon solutions and designing for automated delivery.

With thanks to the following working group members:

Name Position Employer
Nick Boyle Technical Innovation Director - Smart Motorways Alliance Balfour Beatty
Julie Bregulla Director TEDI-London
Ant Burd Associate Director, Head of Built Environment BSI
Lynette Dollar Senior Technical Specialist Stantec
Louisa Ferguson Project Manager Mott MacDonald
Hayley Jackson Site Engineer/Presidents Future Leader Taylor Woodrow/ICE
Dean Kerwick-Chrisp Head of sustainable development and design Highways England
James Norman Associate Professor of Sustainable Design University of Bristol
Heleni Pantelidou Associate Director - Infrastructure Engineer and Low Carbon Specialist Arup
Mungo Stacy Head of Profession WSP
Sally Sudworth Global head of climate change & sustainability Mott MacDonald
Kim Yates UK & Europe Sustainability & Climate Change lead Mott MacDonald

Chair: Tim Chapman – Director - Arup

Infrastructure is heavily networked and interconnected, composed of ‘systems within systems’. Reducing the greenhouse gas emissions associated with its use therefore requires a strategic approach. As the majority of the assets that will be in use by 2050 have already been built, we will have to make these assets work more efficiently, to help achieve the net zero target.

The Covid-19 pandemic is an opportunity to ask searching questions of what society truly wants from its infrastructure systems, and whether long-term demand will continue to increase unchecked.

With thanks to the following working group members:

Name Position Employer
Richard Adams Associate Director AECOM
Mike Cook Partner Buro Happold
Natalie Cropp Sustainability Director Tony Gee
Simona Dobrescu Environmental Lead IPA
Jannik Giesekam Research Fellow in Industrial Climate Policy University of Leeds
Chris Landsburgh Environmental & Sustainability Manager Willis Bros
Maria Manidaki Net Zero Technical Lead / Principal Water Investment Planning Advisor Mott MacDonald
Anusha Shah Director, Resilient Cities Arcadis
Geri Smith Head of Sustainability, Major Projects Balfour Beatty
Holly Smith Presidents Future Leader/Section Engineer ICE/Skanska
Monika Szczyrba Senior Technical Advisor Water, Floods and Waste National Infrastructure Commission
Lara Young Group Carbon Manager Costain