This year's ICE Awards sees top gold medal go to Kier's Paul Glass

The annual ICE Awards recognises outstanding civil engineering achievements and contributions to both the profession and ICE itself – around the world. All winners listed below.

The ICE Awards recognise outstanding civil engineering achievements and contribution to the profession.
The ICE Awards recognise outstanding civil engineering achievements and contribution to the profession.

Held at ICE headquarters at One Great George Street, the annual awards saw major projects and the civil engineers behind them recognised. The Gold Medal is ICE’s premier individual award and recognises civil engineering excellence.

Gold Medal

Paul Glass, Project Director at Kier Infrastructure and Overseas
Paul is recognised for his sustained contribution to civil engineering in a 46 year career that has seen him develop practical, safe and simple solutions to complex problems while helping develop future generations of engineers.

ICE President, Tim Broyd said:

“Paul Glass is a true collaborator. His broad experience has encompassed an array of projects in the UK, US and Hong Kong. His analytical approach, willingness to challenge the status quo and embrace developing technologies has resulted in some exceptional successes. Through his work he has promoted the re-emergence of value engineering in the UK and most recently, advocated the use of Building Information Modelling (BIM).”

International Medal

Rachel Fowler, Technical Director, Infrastructure, Aurecon Australasia Pty.
In the past five years Rachel has led the provision of engineering services for major bulk cargo ports, the coal seam gas industry and public transport infrastructure. As project leader for the $76m eight new Brisbane River passenger ferry terminals, Rachel has made an outstanding contribution to civil engineering and to Australia’s infrastructure. It also helped share the work of civil engineers with wider audiences.


Garth Watson Medal

Patrick Chan, former ICE Regional Director Hong Kong
Awarded for dedicated and valuable service to ICE. Patrick became ICE’s first Regional Director outside the UK in 2007. Since then he has developed ICE Hong Kong, increased membership numbers, rationalised processes and critically ensured that HKIE and the HKSAR authorities have supported ICE on that journey.

Warren Medal

Matthew Colton, Director at Management Commercial Engineering Pty
Awarded to a member for their service to their region, Matthew emigrated to Australia in 2010 and actively promoted ICE, firstly as a committee member and then as Chair of ICE NSW. He turned around a low performing association, formed a new vibrant committee and increased student numbers.

Brunel Medal

The Brisbane Flood Recovery Ferry Terminals
The Brunel Medal recognises excellence in civil engineering. This winner exemplifies ingenuity driving recovery and resilience of infrastructure and a community in the wake of a one-in-100 year flood. The 2011 flood caused devastation to homes, businesses and the city’s public transport infrastructure with many Brisbane ferry terminals destroyed or severely damaged. A global competition for new, flood resilient ferry terminals was won by Aurecon and Cox Architecture with a concept described by the Brisbane City Council as ‘integrating technical innovation, flood resilience and elegant form to deliver terminals that will become iconic features of our river city’.

President’s Medal

Dr Anne Kemp
Dr Anne Kemp has worked in the infrastructure industry for 25 years, delivering information to where it is needed for informed and intelligent decision-making. She is Director and Fellow at Atkins for BIM Strategy and Implementation.

Other winners

Emerging Engineers Award

Connah Jones MEng (Hons)
Paper: Investigating the strengthening of concrete T-beams in shear with embedded glass fibre-reinforced polymer bars

James Rennie Medal

Joseph Maltezos
Project: Crossrail, Tottenham Court Road

Jean Venables Medal

Chloe Etheridge
Project: Farringdon Station

Renée Redfern Hunt Memorial Prize

Spring 2017 Prize: Yin Shan Ho
Paper: Discuss how civil engineers can contribute to biomedical advancements

Tony Chapman Medal

Thomas O’Connor
Project: Luib Bridge Refurbishment in Aberdeenshire in 2011

Chris Binnie Award for Sustainable Water Management

Project: Continuous monitoring and adaptive control of distributed storm water infrastructure (CMAC)

Published papers awards

A number of prizes and awards were issued for papers published by ICE Journals. All winning papers can be found in the ICE Virtual Library.