Industry achievers celebrated in ICE’s Annual Awards Ceremony

The best and brightest from the civil engineering community were recognised today at the ICE Annual Awards Ceremony held in the prestigious Great Hall at One Great George Street this afternoon.

The Second Penang Bridge in South Asia, winner of the Brunel Medal.
The Second Penang Bridge in South Asia, winner of the Brunel Medal.

The Ceremony is an annual highlight of the Institution's calendar and celebrates excellence within civil engineering and technical writing, and the outstanding commitment of the award winners.

Summing up the importance of the awards, ICE President David Balmorth said 'Here we celebrate the hard-won knowledge and outstanding commitment of those who are leading our profession forward so that it is able to provide the infrastructure that will shape our future world.'

Attendees had a chance to network ahead of a welcome from Director General Nick Baveystock followed by lunch in the Great Hall after which the winners were presented with their awards.

Perhaps the most prestigious medal awarded by the Institution is the Gold Medal which is awarded for civil engineering excellence to an individual whose sustained contribution to civil engineering over many years is of particular magnitude and stature. This year's award went to Dr Douglas Allenby who is the Chief Tunnelling Engineer at major civil engineering contractor BAM Nuttall.

Doug Allenby won this year's Gold Medal for his contribution to civil engineering
Doug Allenby won this year's Gold Medal for his contribution to civil engineering

Dr Allenby's 50 years' of experience has seen him work on some of the most challenging engineering projects in the world, resulting in many innovative solutions. He first became a member of ICE in 1963, even becoming Chairman of ICE South in 1963.

Amongst the other prizes awarded were the James Rennie Medal awarded to promote awareness of the role and achievements of newly qualified civil engineers, this year won by Joe Berrisford CEng MICE. ICE's own Miranda Housden was awarded the Garth Watson Medal for the significant contribution she made to ICE whilst in post as ICE London Director.

The President's medal this year went to Chris Newsome who is Director of Asset Management at Anglian Water. Chris has had a remarkably successful career in the water industry and has held a number of high profile industry posts in addition to his role at Anglian Water.

The full list of the winners is shown below, congratulations to all.


Achievement and Development prizes and awards

Emerging Engineers Award
Samuel Donaldson
Paper Title: Bangor Drainage Area Plan (DAP) Implementation

James Rennie Medal
Joe Berrisford CEng MICE
Project: Humber Gateway Offshore Wind Farm

Renée Redfern Hunt Memorial Prize
Autumn 2014 session – Rebecca Harry CEng MICE
Written Exercise: Discuss why there is still a relatively small number of women coming into Civil Engineering. What can be done to encourage more and are there barriers which still need to be removed?
Spring 2015 session – David Woodhead CEng MICE
Written Exercise: Examine the economic and sustainable benefit of windfarms

Tony Chapman Medal
Thomas Moore IEng MICE

Recognising service to the Institution prizes

Garth Watson Medal
Miranda Housden, for her post as ICE London Director.

Promoting the Institution and the civil engineering profession prizes

Brunel Medal
The Second Penang Bridge, Malaysia and South East Asia

Chris Binnie Award for Sustainable Water Management
Winner 2014
Project Name: RainScape Llanelli
Company: Arup and Morgan Sindall

Winner 2015
Project Name: Universal Water Metering Project
Company: Southern Water

Edmund Hambly Medal
United Utilities Sludge Balanced Asset Programme, UK

The International Medal
Gary Chalmers, Technical Principal – Ports and Marine, Opus International Consultants, Christchurch, New Zealand

President's Medal
Christopher David Newsome

Jean Venables Medal
Gareth Davies EngTech TMICE

Coopers Hill Memorial Prize
Renzo Simoni DSc Civil Engineering
Paper: Gotthard base tunnel, Switzerland – the world's longest railway tunnel
Published in: Civil Engineering (Vol 167 Issue CE4)

Frederick Palmer Prize
Jian-Fei Chen BEng, MSc, PhD, FIIFC
Tim Ibell FREng CEng BSc(Eng) PhD FIStructE FICE FHEA
Deric J Oehlers MSc, PhD, Deng
Phillip Visintin BEng, PhD
Paper: Simulating reinforced concrete members Part 1: partial interaction properties
Published in: Structures and Buildings (Vol 167, Issue SB12)

Green Materials Prize
Hongyao Yin MSc
Yongmin Zhang PhD
Yujun Feng PhD
Paper: CO2-responsive anionic wormlike micelles based on natural erucic acid
Published in: Green Materials (Vol 2 Issue GMAT2)

Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya Prize
Yi Wang MA
Yun Zhao MArch
Ming Cui March
Zhe Wang MSc
Ting Wu MSc
Jin Zhang
Paper: Qingkou complex: an engineering masterpiece of the Grand Canal of China
Published in: Engineering History and Heritage (Vol 167 Issue EH2)

Nanomaterials and Energy Prize
Yuanbing Mao PhD
Paper: Branched nanostructures for photoelectrochemical water splitting
Published in: Nanomaterials and Energy (Vol 3 Issue NME4)

The Gold Medal
Dr Douglas Allenby, Chief Tunnelling Engineer, BAM Nuttall

The Warren Medal
Robert White, Technical Director, Mott MacDonald, Auckland, New Zealand

Published papers awards

A number of Prizes and awards were also issued for papers published by ICE Journals. All of the winning papers can be found in the ICE Virtual Library.