East Midlands - Merit Awards

A bridge under construction at night

The East Midlands Merit Awards provide an opportunity for civil engineers in the region to celebrate all aspects of their achievements, whether related to projects or people.

Winners will be announced during the ICE East Midlands Merit Awards Ceremony online on Thursday, 10 June 2021.

The awards will be presented to the submitting organisation and other partners (commissioning authority, designer, contractor or research establishment as appropriate) or individuals where appropriate.

ICE East Midlands Merit Awards 2021

You can submit a project for the following categories:

  • Small Project
    (Overall cost up to £2 million)
  • Medium Project
    (Overall cost £2 - 10 million)
  • Large Project
    (Overall cost more £10 million)
  • Design, Studies & Research
  • Team Achievement
  • William Kemp Award
  • ICE STEM Ambassador of the Year
  • ICE Civil Engineering Achiever of the Year

Additionally, all submitted projects have an opportunity to receive a Sustainability Award. This award is at the judges’ discretion and and will be given to a project that showcases a high level of compliance with respect to targets set under the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UNSDGs). Please note this is not a new award category and is discretionary; it aims to emphasise the ICE mission to ensure a sustainable built infrastructure, which in turn influences all 17 UNSDGs.

Entry fees

Entry fee for completed entries received by the closing date of midday on Friday, 12 March 2021, £200 + VAT. Please note there is no fee for entering for the William Kemp Award, ICE STEM Ambassador of the Year Award or ICE Civil Engineering Achiever of the Year Award.

How to enter

Please see the ICE East Midlands Merit Awards Call for Entries booklet for full details on how to enter.

Expression of Interest

Please register your Expression of Interest by Friday, 30 January 2021, through our web form below:

Enter security code:
 Security code

*mandatory field


All submissions to be made via WeTransfer to [email protected] by midday on Friday 12 March 2021.

Please note: Paper submissions (in whole or part) will not be accepted.

Please refer to the checklist to ensure you have submitted all necessary documents.


The entry form is available below. Please ensure you tick the right payment option in the entry form. Please refer to the Checklist to ensure you submit all required documents.

For any queries about entering these awards please contact the regional office at: [email protected]

Entry forms

2020 Merit Award winners

Winners of the 2020 East Midlands Merit Awards were announced during an online ceremony on Friday, 30 October 2020.

Read more about last year's competition.

Next Generation Design — The Social Shell

2020 Small project category award winner

Submitted by Arup and Leonard Design

This timber pavilion that was designed by students from across Nottingham who took part in a weekend workshop. The workshop culminated in a competition to design a pavilion to inspire the next generation of engineers, architects, and designers, and to promote diversity and broader representation within the construction industry.

Leicester North West Phase 2

2020 Medium project category winner

Submitted by Tarmac, Leicester City Council and Arcadis

The project involved making significant improvements to the traffic management at two busy intersections on a major route linking the centre of Leicester with future developments planned in the north west of the city.

The judges applauded the use of significant quantities of redundant tar bound surfacing material, which would have gone to landfill; the judging panel also commended the project’s efficient and well-planned communications campaign throughout the project, which ensured that everyone impacted by the works was kept up-to-date.

Granular Activated Sludge comes to Radcliffe on Trent

2020 Large project category award winner

Submitted by Severn Trent, NMCN Plc, Mott MacDonald Bentley and CiM6 (Costain and MWH partnership).

A collaborative approach helped the project partners to deliver a novel and innovative solution to achieve the required improvements in performance at both Radcliffe and Cotgrave’s sewage treatment works and improve river water quality at 26 sewage treatment works across the region.

Boston Barrier

2020 Team Achievement category winner

Submitted by the Environment Agency, BAM and Nuttall & Mott MacDonald Joint Venture.

The judging panel was impressed that the barrier — one of the most effective flood defence schemes outside London — will offer significantly improved tidal flood defence protection for over 14,000 homes and nearly 600 businesses, and is predicted to deliver economic benefits of over £1billion to Boston.