Wales Cymru - project awards

Landfill silhouette, Wales

The annual ICE Wales Cymru Awards celebrates outstanding engineering achievement across the country. Civil engineering is about creating, improving and protecting the world in which we live.

ICE Wales Cymru arranges awards and competitions to promote the achievements of civil engineers in the region.

Project Awards 2021

Following on from the success of the virtual ICE Wales Cymru Awards 2020 we pleased to announce that we are now in a position to release the Information Pack and entry form for the ICE Wales Cymru 2021 Awards for any projects which are substantially complete as at 31 December 2020. Full information is available in these documents.

The closing date for entries is 17.00 Thursday 25 February 2021 and there will then be a process of shortlisting and evaluation, at this stage due to social distancing regulations we do not know if this will be done virtually or with our judges able to visit the projects in person.

For the same reason we are hopeful that if pandemic restrictions are eased the Awards Ceremony will be held in the President’s Suite of the Principality Stadium on 11 June 2021, hosted by Lucy Owen with an address by ICE President 2021 Rachel Skinner and we recommend that that you book your place early for this iconic venue. As there are no rooms for overnight stays at the venue, we have negotiated with local hotels to hold rooms for us in a block booking and I will be pleased to give you these details at a later date when the event is confirmed and finalised.

We also have contingency plans in place that if we are unable to meet in person a virtual event will be staged now we have the experience of this year’s ceremony to build on.

We are sure that we shall, as always have a very high standard of entries again this year and look forward to seeing the details of each project.

ICE Wales Cymru Project Awards categories are:

  • George Gibby Award
  • Roy Edwards Award
  • Bill Ward Sustainability Award
  • Designed in Wales Award
  • Chair’s Special Award

And introducing in 2020

  • The Alun Griffiths Award for Community Engagement

Awards 2020 winners

This year, for the first in its history, ICE Wales Cymru held the Awards Ceremony digitally.

This did not seem to deter any of you from joining the celebrations with over 400 viewings of the video presentation in the first few days!

We were delighted to be joined in the video presentations by outgoing ICE President, Paul Sheffield CBE, 2020 Chair Yvonne Murphy and Chairs Apprentice Jessica Dunn.

Our thanks to all of you who took part in the competition which was a very high standard and in this exceptional year a true testament to the ingenuity and skills of the civil engineering profession.

St Athan Northern Access Road – Alun Griffiths (Contractors) Ltd

Winner - George Gibby Award (best project +£3m)

The George Gibby Award is presented to the best example of outstanding design and construction of a project costing more than £3 million.

This award honours the highly respected ICE member George H Gibby (1923-2010), who originally proposed the idea of an awards scheme to celebrate civil engineering.

Penybont Wastewater Treatment Works – Mott Macdonald Bentley

Winner - Roy Edwards Award (best project under £3m)

The Roy Edwards Award is presented to the best example of outstanding design and construction of a project costing less than £3 million.

This award was named after Colonel Roy Edwards who was the longest serving member of the South Wales Association committee and first territorial member of the Institution’s Council (1949-54).

Rebuilding and Future Proofing of the Conwy Railway – Alun Griffiths (Contractors) Ltd

Winner - Bill Ward Sustainability Award

The Bill Ward Sustainability Award is presented to the project which best demonstrates the principles of sustainability, i.e. social, economic and environmental benefits of the project during delivery and upon completion.

Conwy Railway

East Midlands Gateway Bridge – Cass Hayward

Winner - Designed in Wales Award

The Designed in Wales Award is presented to a project that has demonstrated outstanding design and construction and which has been designed in Wales and constructed elsewhere (either in the UK or overseas).

M4 Junction 28 Improvements – Costain

Winner - Chair’s Special Award

The Chair's Special Award is presented to any individual or project which has demonstrated exceptional skill and expertise or made an exceptional contribution to the profession. At its absolute discretion, the Judging Panel may make a recommendation to the ICE Wales Cymru Chair that a shortlisted project be presented with this award. The ICE Wales Cymru Chair may accept or reject any recommendation made to him/her at their own discretion

M4 Junction 28 Improvements

Llanberis Flood Alleviation Scheme – YGC

Winner - The Alun Griffiths Award for Community Engagement

The Alun Griffiths Award for Community Engagement is presented to an individual or organisation who have demonstrated standards of excellence in engagement with the local community in the planning, design, project management and construction of any project, taking into consideration and placing emphasis on all aspects of social, economic and ecological matters to ensure future sustainability and wellbeing.